Ronikins

me being me (and knitting)

I’m back…again? March 28, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ronikins @ 11:36 am

Well I didn’t leave the state this time. I just left the blog for a bit I guess. I’m not gonna apologize or give excuses. I’m a big believer in choices. I believe it’s empowering to know you have them. You always have choices. When I worked in a domestic & sexual abuse crisis center that is what we told clients. We never told them what to do; we only made them aware of their choices. I try to let my kids have as many “choices” as possible, letting them practice “choosing” in the safety of my eye and their home. When I’m unhappy or dissatisfied with something I ask my self, what are my choices and what can I change? As a Mom when I feel stuck and overwhelmed, I remind myself I’m choosing to do what I do, and I then can take pride in my choices. All this to say…I’ve made lots of choices over the last few days… and none of which included blogging. 🙂

I did however choose to:

Finish these

baby toes!
And these.

Then I chose to make a purchase. A yarn purchase. It’s for a project that has sent me scouring for the right yarn over the last few months. In fact while searching for the right yarn, I of course came across many other yarns and my stash has grown extensively. Then I found it. The perfect color, fiber, gauge, and price! Then while I waited for my order to arrive, because this project is now at the head of the wait list (Sorry boys!), I wanted a small project that would be done by its arrival. While digging through the stash I was also thinking of what I could do away with. I came across some Sugars and Cream and thought it should definitely go. I had a run in with some other cotton last year that left me with a in a wrist bandage. I’ve been scared of a lot of cottons since. Not all, Cotton Fleece and Cotton Ease are luckily safe! But the stringiness of Sugars and Cream had me cringing. But I also thought how nice it would be if this little cotton stash was knitted into some of those cute little Mason Dixon Warshrags and then sent to Grandma J back in Texas. So I thought I’d be brave and just try.

Warshrags  1 & 2

Turns out it may not have been the cotton, but the combo of the cotton and the needles I was using. (some Susan Bates for the curious). These little things are quite addictive. It’s mindless knitting for sure and it’s almost instant gratification how quick they work up! Well my yarn arrived on Saturday, but we had quite the busy weekend with a baby shower and a bday party so I decided to wait to start. I decided that warshrags were much more portable so I just kept going. Then Monday came and went…still knitting warshrags.

Warshrags  3 & 4

Then Tuesday night I finally hit my end. I ran out of yarn.

Warshrags  4  & almost 5

I still plan on knitting more of these, this time for me in more ME colors. But for now I’m out cotton and looking forward to my next project. Stay tuned for more…

 

4 Responses to “I’m back…again?”

  1. NanaKnit Says:

    Dude #1 looks great in the socks that his Mama made with love and will feel great covered in all knitting love.

  2. keri Says:

    Those are such cute warshcloths, I love the way you made each set a mirror of the other!

  3. AJ Says:

    Roni, those are way cute!

  4. Beatriz Says:

    I’m glad you found a way to use up the cotton. I think Grandma J will really enjoy them. And the socks turned out great. I cast on for a pair of socks this weekend…first socks for this year.


Leave a Reply

