Ronikins

me being me (and knitting)

3 of a kind March 14, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ronikins @ 10:29 am

So all the love that I feel when I wrap myself up in Gma A’s blankets has had me thinking a lot about knitting for the people I love. And with that I present some FOs for people I love.

It is the same in essence as the brother in law’s hat; but with a different stitch count, motif, and yarn. So it felt different enough to not bore me…too much.

Dude #2 with his new socks

It was soo much fun to knit for my little guy! He’s the one who wants everything I knit, not ever caring what it is, how big or how wrong the colors are. His favorite part was trying on, and giving me direction. We did many try-ons just for fun. Now I know a 3 yo is normally excited about socks, but he was soo happy. And really I don’t think it had anything to do with the socks. It’s funny how a child can get it. A lot of adults you run into today just don’t. They think handmade means cheap and crappy. This little guy knows that hand made means made with lots of love. He knows that while Mamma is knitting, she’s thinking of him. He knows that I’m taking my time to make something just for him. It’s a completely tangible evidence of love. He gets it, and he already wants to know when it’s his “turn” again!

Dude #1 with his octopus

The Dude would not budge on the yarn choice. I kept asking, like I forgot, “come and pick out some yarn sweetie” or “what yarn do you want?”, but I kept getting the adamant “I already told you, I want the rainbow yarn.” even after it had been deeply hidden, he didn’t…couldn’t… wouldn’t forget. But a ray of sunshine poked through and I found this pattern at Ana Paula’s etsy shop. I asked Dude and he said very quickly, “Yeah Mamma, an Octopus”. So I guess he really just wanted an Octopus, not that Octopus. Had I known I would have tried this many months ago. And I just kept telling myself “look at the pretty colors” instead of focusing on the plasticky yuckiness of the yarn. But whateva, it’s done and he’s happy. I do say this every time I’ve made a toy/stuffie, but it is sooo much fun! I love watching all those little pieces come together (even if that means I have to sew them together). I love embroidering the face (even though I have no idea what I’m doing) and I love watching the kids play with them and having them come to life. I feel like Geppetto . I have a small collection of knitted and crocheted toy books and patterns, including the many I just bought from Ana Paula, and a secret desire to own them all. I could almost do this kind of making full time…almost. I know the kids would love it! And I do definitely have to recommend Ana Paula’s patterns, she is very fast at emailing the patterns and they are very well written, so seriously go look – so.cute. I only made one teeny tiny mod, I used this start method rather then the first two rows on the body and the legs. I really like the magic adjustable ring method and do also recommend it. (It does seem, from my track record, that putting magic in the title makes me a believer. Magic loop, Judy’s Magic cast on, and now The Magic Adjustable Ring. Gullible me)

And speaking of Etsy love….I also picked up some soap from the Knitting Philistine’s shop. WOW! As soon as I read her blurb about the grapefruit soap I had clicked the buy button before I could even stop myself. Then I thought, what did I just do? I’ve got soap, I don’t need soap. But then it arrived. Again, WOW! The aroma was exactly what I was dreaming of, and I instantly wished I had bought more. Well luckily Megan has such phenomenal customer service skills that she can actually read my mind. Okay it was more of an accidental duplicate shipment…or was it…I kinda like the idea of normal people with super powers.

So anywho, I’ve got 3 satisfied customers. HaHaHa! Umm, yeah right. Dude #1 is already asking for his socks, Dude #2 is already asking for Octopus (I’m hoping to convince him a different Ana pattern) and Hubbo had me order yarn for a sweater for him. Well luckily, I’m feeling the love and don’t have a problem with granting there knitting requests…for now.

 

8 Responses to “3 of a kind”

  1. Eric Hicks Says:

    I just wanted to tell you that I Love You, and really like my hat. Reading your Blog really made me feel good, knowing that you love what you do… XOXO Your Husband!

  2. Eric Hicks Says:

    Now where’s the sweater? HA HA HA… Just Kidding!

  3. AJ Says:

    Just think, with all the knitting requests you now have justifiable reasons to go out and BUY yarn! Can’t help but love that! The hat and socks both look great. 😉

  4. I love that hat!!! Makes me really wish I knew how to do color work. What a sweet husband to stop by and leave you messages! My boys are teens and they all beg for hand knit stuff. I think you’re right, they know the time and thought that goes into it. You’re doing a great thing teaching your kids the idea that “it’s the thought that counts” behind the gift. When my boys were younger I always encouraged them to make gifts for family members. Every year we had a different holiday gift for Grandmothers and Aunts that they made themselves. Maybe handmade soap, jewlery, candles, etc. I think the warm gift giving feelings will be something they always remeber and “practice”. It’s one thing my future daughter-in law’s can thank me for to mke up for the things they hate me for!!

  5. Beatriz Says:

    I changed my url to match my name. Thanks for the comments! Love the hat!

  6. Cara Says:

    Look how sweet your boys look! All of them! And how wonderful that they support your knitting and appreciate how much love you put into it.

    Thanks for your comment today. I’m extremely close with my sister and her kids, so I didn’t think twice about offering. (And yes, I offered. I don’t think she had the guts to ask. 😉 )

  7. Becky Says:

    Hey you. I was wondering who ronikins was.

    You have a beautiful. I’ll give you a tip, being the mother of three boys, men now.

    They will always want something that mom made.

    Mine love beanies and scarves.

  8. Becky Says:

    I meant to say you have a beautiful family.

    See what raising boys will do to you?


Leave a Reply

