Ronikins

me being me (and knitting)

I don’t think I need to do that weird things meme now, this post proves just how wacky I am. February 6, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ronikins @ 11:01 am

So things aren’t as bad as I thought they would be around here. The Dudes are actually quite full of energy and in good spirits despite the pink eye. I haven’t restarted the Green Gable yet, but hope to later today. I just had to take a day of comfort knitting on my socks. That is what socks are for,no? So I have nothing new to show, but decided to take this time to talk about something.

As I became a knitter I became a tad obsessed with the tools of the trade. The thought of having an urge to knit something but not having the appropriate needle right there waiting for me made me a little nervous. I’m one of those people who like to have all their ducks in a row. So I began a search for a “set” of needles that would put that fear away. I found some super affordable bamboo needles on Ebay and relaxed for a minute. Then I bought an Addi Turbo to try out. It was love at first stitch, and also made me realize that I’m really not a bamboo girl. But the price of Addis made me nervous again. Then I stumbled on the Boye set at stealer price and thought, this could work. Well, they did have some obvious limitations: only sizes US 4-15, bulky join, inflexible cable, and definitely on the heavier side, but I made due. Subsequently Knitpicks introduces their new line of needles. Luckily my birthday was around the corner.

My Needles 2

You know that love that I declared for Addis, well it was kinda like that high school first time kind of love. My love for Knitpicks Options is like the “I do through sickness and health” kind of love. Yeah it’s serious.
Flexible cable, smooth joins, light weight, pointy, and affordable. But the real kicker is the ease of organization and mobility. Really that is the climax right there. It bears repeating the ease of organization and mobility. My heart actually skipped a beat.


I know there has been some talk about the weight of the double points. But that is of no concern to me. I don’t own the double points and have no plans to buy them. I’m a magic looper. In fact if you’re concerned with weight you should try magic looping. Four to five needles are much heavier than two. Besides that it’s faster. Three to four needle intersections where you have to stop and re-set up your tension and whatnot takes more time than it does for two needle intersections. I have no problem with using double points; I did quite often before the Options set. I just have a problem with the extra storage, and money that they require. That’s right that is how I operate.

My Needles 1

I can sleep at night now. I have all the needles I need right there waiting for me in my new knitting bag. That is partly why I don’t think I was very attracted to that bag before, it couldn’t have possibly fit all the needles I would have needed before. The other part was not knowing a black version existed.

Well I think that’s more than enough talk for today!

 

4 Responses to “I don’t think I need to do that weird things meme now, this post proves just how wacky I am.”

  1. dana Says:

    I really like those needles now that I read your post. I have a set of Denise interchangeables and they are size 5-15. I have one set of addis, size three and they were awesome to work with- the metal makes knitting go faster somehow? Now the magic looping thing… that is something I need to try… tension is such a headach of mine!!!!

  2. keri Says:

    I know what you mean about the tools, I am obsessed with all the little knitterly tools and love finding new things! =) Lucky you- you got the options set, enjoy!

  3. AJ Says:

    I, too, am picky about my needles. I started with the aluminum ones from Michael’s and for whatever reason, I like them a lot. I like the click clack. But I also love the small gauge bamboos for fine yarns. I am not big on the interchangable sets for whatever crazy reason. I guess I am so used to the sets I’ve used for the past 6 years that change really isn’t in my future. 🙂 Que sera sera.

  4. I love your review. I have the knit picks and I love them! I also love their #1, 2 and 3 circulars. Now I am stuck with Denise needles-2 sets, from my “high school” crush. I can’t bear the thought of ever touching them again, kind like your Boyle’s.


Leave a Reply

