Ronikins

me being me (and knitting)

Babydoll for my babydoll June 13, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ronikins @ 6:50 pm


Babydoll for my babydoll, originally uploaded by RonikinsKnits.

So when uploading projects into Ravelry I got a *little* inspired to take photos of things I knit pre-blog. I say little, because I didn’t hunt down all previous gift-ees and demand photos of the knitted gifts, nor did I pull out My Babydoll’s baby box and gather up the many hats, mitts, socks, booties, or sweaters. It’s a funny thing about being pregnant while learning to knit/crochet, you knit ALOT of baby things! And I did also come across a few items that I took photos of before the blog just for my Momma’s sake. You can check them all out in my Flickr account.

But I did feel like talking about one past knit in particular….the babydoll for My Babydoll. This is definitely one of my most favorite knits. I had originally planned to knit up more of these for my nieces, but it turns out I’m not BIG enough for that yet. It’s weird, I feel kind of protective over this doll. I wanna make sure she’s handled and loved right. And I don’t think is exactly appropriate to give a gift with a list of do’s and don’ts to a 3 yo, you know? Honestly I barely let My Babydoll handle this one, and frankly for good reason. Right after I took this photo she ran away with it and dipped it in a puddle (from the sprinklers) and was mopping the cement with it. Luckily it wasn’t badly damaged and recovered. So even though My Babydoll is usually very loving and gentle with here babies, that is her normal behavior (I would label that abusive, no?) with this doll. Do ya think she might suspect (and disapprove) of my emotional attachment to a toy I knit for her? Ah well, maybe we can mature together. It is however unfortunate that the doll still sits around in its undies. One day my love for it will generate a need to clothe it. One day.

Oh and a little bit of details….
Pattern: Basic Doll and underwear from Toys to Knit
Yarn: Lion Brand Baby Soft (The little bit of nylon gives it some nice give, and very key: machine washable!)
Needles: US 3 Knitpicks Classic Circulars 32″ (I think this was the first project I used the KP needles on. I heart you KP!)
Mods: I knit everything in the round via Magic loop instead of flat. I used Judy’s Magic cast-on for the head, and possible the body…I don’t really remember. This was also the first time I used that method and liked it soo much that I decided to possibly convert to a toe-upper…and I did!

 

8 Responses to “Babydoll for my babydoll”

  1. So cool! What an awesome knit, I’m impressed. She has that kind wild Shakira look going on with her hair…maybe your Babydoll was playing Shakira when she comes rolling out of the mud? Oh yeah, she’s only three, guess not. Hmmm.

  2. Beatriz Says:

    I’ve been missing Thursday night knitting for almost a month now! Mainly because we had family visiting & lots of get togethers and outings. I will not miss this week. I’m going thru withdrawals!

  3. Becky Says:

    The Babydoll is so adorable I can see how you would want her taken care of properly.

  4. AJ Says:

    Very cute doll!

  5. April Says:

    Roni, I need help with that Judy’s cast on next time I see you if you are willing!

  6. Patty Says:

    LOVE your dolly! My little girl is now 13, so I think I missed my window of opportunity to make one for her. So, I’ll just have to consider making one for ME!

  7. Yarn Says:

    what a lovely babydol :)

  8. Beth Bratton Says:

    I miss you so much that I looked up your blog on ravelry! You are an amazing knitter, and I hope to be like you some day! I love the babydoll! And I love your blog!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.