Ronikins

me being me (and knitting)

Shadow Shrug beginnings June 6, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ronikins @ 5:29 pm

Shadow Shrug beginnings, originally uploaded by RonikinsKnits.

This is all that nap time allowed to get accomplished. At least it’s a beginning. The yarn is Caron Shadows, and the pattern is the free one from the yarn wrapper, The Simple Shrug. Shocking, huh. Hopefully you yarn snobs won’t shun me too bad. But really it’s not a bad yarn and I love the colors, and if this one works out hope to do another in the Opal Twist color way (the Dark Moss is pretty too, but three might be too much) So anyway, I bought this yarn early last fall and actually did cast on right away. But realized a few inches in that “No I did not want to knit this flat” as the pattern instructed. It’s knit sideways from cuff to cuff, and the sleeves are supposed to be sewn up. After I frogged it, I got distracted with another project and the yarn when back into the stash. I’ve really wanted to re-cast on for awhile and now I have. I’m knitting it in the round and it feels much better. I know it’s kinda of trend of mine to knit things in ways which do not require seams, but this is not to avoid seaming….cause I love me some seaming . It’s to avoid the actual seams, I think it’s one of the benefits of hand-knitting…no seams. That and I prefer knitting to purling.

Next time I’ll be digging up some knits from my past……

 

3 Responses to “Shadow Shrug beginnings”

  1. AJ Says:

    Pretty colors!

    I had no idea you lived in California. One day we will have to meet! :)

  2. I think the shrug will be lovely (I became a yarn snob unintentionaly, but it only applies to what I knit with!) I’ve been looking at old projects I have alreasy bought yarn for, kind of wistfully, too. I think because I’m trying to “pre” prepare for my wished for Ravelry invite.

  3. Mr. Hicks Says:

    I like it!! Keep up the good work babe, and maybe one day you will start knitting some Black and Gold… some day…


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.